• Map View
  • Street View
  • Directions
  • Driving
  • Walking
  • Bicycling
  • Transit

BTEC HND Diploma in Computing and Systems Development

  • 1948

EDEXCEL is one of the leading examining and awarding body in UK and throughout the world. BTEC Level 5 HND Diploma in Computing and Systems Development provides a specialist work-related programme of study that covers the key knowledge, understanding and practical skills required in the sector. The qualification prepares learners for employment in the sector and is suitable for those who have already decided that they wish to enter this area of work. This is 240 Credit programme.

This qualification consists of a minimum of 240 credits, with mandatory and optional units.

Course Structure
Mandatory core units — all four units must be taken

Unit 1 Business Skills for e-Commerce Credits 15
Unit 2 Computer Systems Credits 15
Unit 3 Employability and Professional Developmente Credits 15
Unit 4 Project Design, Implementation and Evaluation Credits 20

Optional Units — choose units with a total credit value of 175 credits

Unit 8 Management of Projects Credits 15
Unit 9 Systems Analysis and Design Credits 15
Unit 14 Website Design Credits 15
Unit 17 Database Design Concepts Credits 15
Unit 20 Event Driven Programming Solutions Credits 15
Unit 24 Networking Technologies Credits 15
Unit 29 e-Commerce Strategy Credits 15
Unit 30 Information Systems in Organisations Credits 15
Unit 33 Data Analysis and Design Credits 15
Unit 35 Web Application Development Credits 15
Unit 36 Internet Server Management Credits 15
Unit 48 IT Security Management Credits 10
* Optional units are subject to change
Entry Requirement
Applicants must be at least 18 years of age. You will normally need to have at least one of the following:

•  A BTEC National Certificate or Diploma in an appropriate area
•  An AVCE/GNVQ in an appropriate vocational area
•  A GCE A Level profile which demonstrates strong performance in a relevant subject or an adequate performance in more than one GCE subject.
•  Other related Level 3 qualifications / related work experience
•  Mature students and students with other qualifications or an interest in the subject are encouraged to apply, and will be considered after interviewLanguage Proficiency:
Applicants whose first language is not English, or who have not studied the final two years of school in English, must demonstrate their English Language proficiency equals to IELTS 5.5 with minimum of 5.0 band being awarded in individual sections.
Each unit is internally assessed using written assignments, work-based assignments, practical assessment, portfolio development and presentations and are graded by lecturers. Grades awarded are Pass, Merit or Distinction.
The qualifications provide a thorough grounding in the key concepts and practical skills required in their sector and their national recognition by employers allows direct progression to employment. Edexcel BTEC HND learners can progress to the second or third year of a degree or honours degree programme, depending on the match of the Edexcel BTEC Higher National units to the degree programme.
Qualification Level
BTEC Level 4 & 5
24 Months
Starting Dates:
September, January, April